Look down my developer history - 1

Hi all, hopefully, this article will give some inspiration to some of you guys who wanted to start their developer journey. First I will introduce myself, I am a senior software developer who works on front-end technologies mostly and having a space to explore new things also.

NO TIME TO WASTE...LET'S BEGIN...

When I was out from my college I have only one dream, to be a developer, and wanted to be everyone's pick if they want their job done. Right now I'll proudly say that I'm in the position that I wanted to be in a few years back.

After passed out from our college, I started searching for jobs in major cities like Chennai (hardly the only major city I know). It's hard in the early stages. Because we are not our own. We need that support from our family for every month's expenditure and other things. So it's hard not to be patient and jump in whatever job companies offer.

Initially, I tried jobs at BPO's also. For god's sake, my English is not that good enough to make the initial level of clearing the exam.

Don't do that. Believe me. After graduation and if you are in the job-hunting process in my advice is don't go to big companies. Just start your search with small companies. Small companies don't offer high pay. But in the long term, if you look back your most crucial learnings and guidance all happened in those companies only.

After the initial struggles, another gate opened. One of a friend asked me to attend the interview in the company he joined a few days back. In a span of a few months, all of our gang joined the same company. It's always good to have some good friends behind your back. Always...

If you are started from that position then just look at your boss and how they have handled you and how much belief they have in you. In the initial stages, you always have to be patient to get their trust in you. Work hard and do things outside your work. Learn a lot. Read at least 2 articles related to the work or language you are currently working on.

When I was started every time I get a chance to discuss some of my findings with my BOSS, they asked numerous questions about how things work in different situations. But in the end, once they believe in you the questions will be much less when the discussion happened next time. So, understand the product also makes you clear about your decisions before going into that kind of meeting.

Once I got their trust and I understand the product of vision I started giving ideas of how can we change the things that work already and what kind of new features we can add to make sure the customer feels better while they interacting with our tool. Thanks to my initial company. They gave me freedom. I have done a lot of POC (Proof Of Concept). Most of them do not have a chance to getting into production. But in every POC I have done and every meeting I had with my boss my confidence level increases as much as possible.

After one and half years I took control over the product I work for and started making my own decisions (surely I let the BOSS know the decision too ). After doing a lot of learning and improvements on my decision-making skills I feel that I wanted to explore the outside world.

That happened after working for two years and eight months in my first company. I'll update the part soon.